Research Promotion

In addition to help for affected people, research funding is one of the purposes of the Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation. Research means the systematic search for new scientific knowledge, which is often a lengthy process and is accompanied by trial and error. The complex mechanisms of Alzheimer's disease are still not fully understood. Basic research requires extensive investments and time to finally decode the connections. The Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation continues to support this with trust and great commitment.

The focus is on two measures: the Alzheimer's Research Award and the Alzheimer's Doctoral Scholarships.

In addition, since 2020 the foundation has awarded a special prize for outstanding publications in the research field of dementia, the so-called "Best Paper Prize" to an excellent young researcher (PhD student or post-doctoral fellow) of the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE). In 2022, the best paper will be awarded 5,000 EUR, which the author may use privately. The second to fifth place winners will receive EUR 4,000, EUR 3,000, EUR 2,000 and EUR 1,000, respectively.

The Foundation is also committed to scientific cooperation and supports existing scientific networks in the field of Alzheimer's disease. From 2006 to 2012, the foundation also supported scientific research projects by other organizations.

A great transfer of knowledge between research and practice is ensured by the extensive know-how of our Board of Trustees, the Scientific Advisory Board and our scientific network. In this way, current knowledge can be implemented into new projects and support measures. The interlinking of science and aid for those affected forms the core of the foundation. Only through the interdisciplinary interplay of different competencies, valid help can be developed and come into effect.

Forschungsförderung

Neben der Betroffenenhilfe ist die Forschungsförderung ein Stiftungszweck der Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung. Forschung bedeutet die systematische Suche nach neuen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, die oft ein langwieriger Prozess ist und von Versuch und Irrtum begleitet wird. Noch immer nicht sind die komplexen Mechanismen der Alzheimererkrankung ganz verstanden. Die Grundlagenforschung benötigt weitreichende Investitionen und Zeit, die Zusammenhänge endgültig zu entschlüsseln. Die Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung unterstützt dies weiterhin vertrauensvoll und mit großem Engagement.

Dabei stehen zwei Maßnahmen im Mittelpunkt: der Alzheimer-Forschungspreis und die Alzheimer-Promotionsstipendien.

Zudem vergibt die Stiftung 2020 anlässlich ihres 20jährigen Bestehens einmalig einen Sonderpreis für herausragende Publikationen im Forschungsbereich Demenz, den sogenannten „Publikationspreis“ an eine(n) exzellente(n) Nachwuchsforscher(in) (Doktorand oder Post-Doktorand) des Deutschen Zentrums für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen (DZNE). Der Preis ist mit 5.000 EUR für die private Verwendung des Preisträgers dotiert.

Darüber setzt sich die Stiftung für die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit ein und fördert existierende wissenschaftliche Netzwerke auf dem Gebiet der Alzheimer-Krankheit. Zudem hat die Stiftung von 2006 bis 2012 wissenschaftliche Forschungsprojekte anderer Organisationen unterstützt.
Ein großer Wissenstransfer zwischen Forschung und Praxis wird durch das umfassende Know-how unserer Kuratoriumsmitglieder, des Scientific Advisory Boards und unser wissenschaftliches Netzwerk sichergestellt. So können aktuelle Erkenntnisse in neue Projekte und Unterstützungsmaßnahmen fließen. Denn die Verzahnung von Wissenschaft und Betroffenenhilfe bildet den Wesenskern der Stiftung. Nur durch das interdisziplinäre Zusammenspiel verschiedener Kompetenzen kann wirksame Hilfe entwickelt werden und zum Tragen kommen.