Foundation's Organisation

The Hans and Ilse Breuer non-profit Foundation has a lean and unbureaucratic organisation. It consists of two parts: the Executive Board and the Foundation Board of Trustees. The Foundation’s headquarter is in Frankfurt.

The Board of Directors currently consists of one person (according to the articles of association, a maximum of two directors is allowed) and is appointed by the Board of Trustees for five years. The function of this honorary board is to manage the Foundation and its business in accordance with the law, the Foundation’s acts of constitution and guidelines set by the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees of the Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation consists of six persons. Together with the Executive Board, their purpose is to plan, coordinate and implement the Foundation’s activities, as well as to monitor projects sponsored by the Foundation. All members of the Board of Trustees perform these duties on a voluntary basis.

The Board of Trustees is supported by the Scientific Advisory Board (in short: SAB) in the selection of the scholarship holder and the nomination of candidates for the Alzheimer Research Award. The SAB currently includes six scientists from the fields of basic research, health services research and the industry:

The Board of Directors is supported by an advisory council. The advisory council helps the management to exchange experiences and reflect all strategic decisions, contributes expert knowledge and supports fundraising.

The Executive Board

Dr. Katja Bär
”The foundation has set itself the goal to make dementia less frightening through clarification. Because this enables the affected people and their families to a new living together. This goes hand in hand with long-term research funding. I work hard every day to achieve this.“

Dr. Katja Bär, born in 1967 in Stuttgart-Bad-Cannstatt, studied business administration and earned her doctorate in insurance economics. Miss Dr. Bär has been in charge of the foundation office since 2007. Until the end of 2017, she was a client advisor for wealthy private clients at UBS Europe SE. In addition, she was responsible for the Foundations department and has published numerous articles in the field of German non-profit organizations.

The Board Of Trustees

Peter Breuer, chairman of the board of trustees, is the first son of the founder, Hans Breuer, and his wife, Ilse Breuer, and was born in 1948 in Neu-Isenburg. He is married and has one child. Peter Breuer is an independent businessman.

Roland Bergfeld (LL.M.) is admitted attorney in Germany and New York. Born 1971 in Frankfurt, he gradutated at Heidelberg Universtity and Northwestern University. Later he gained extensive experience in consulting various foundations.

Stefan Breuer was born in 1957 in Neu Isenburg, he is the second son of Hans and Ilse Breuer. He is married and has five children. Stefan Breuer currently lives and works in Switzerland, as an independent businessman.

”I have dedicated my life to Alzheimer's research for 30 years. Only with excellent research, personal initiative and the will to interdisciplinary cooperation will we be able to defeat this scourge of humanity. Despite all our enthusiasm, we should not forget the patients and their relatives in research who rely on help every day. The Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation supports research, relatives and patients to the same extent. These are the reasons why I am happy to contribute personally and why I am committed.”

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Christian Haass was born in 1960. He studied biology at the University of Heidelberg, where he received his doctorate in 1989. He then went to Harvard Medical School and was appointed Assistant Professor of Neurology in 1992. From 1995 he was head of the Department of Molecular Biology at the Central Institute of Mental Health (ZI) in Mannheim. In 1999, he was appointed Professor of Metabolic Biochemistry at the LMU Munich and head of the Adolf-Butenandt Institute.

»

Andreas C. Hübner is Senior Managing Director of Lazard Asset Management LLC and is responsible for the business activities of Lazard Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH with offices in Frankfurt, Hamburg, Milan, Zurich and Geneva. He has been in investment management since 1984. Prior to joining Lazard in 1999, Mr. Hübner was a personally liable partner of SMH Schröder Münchmeyer Hengst & Co., a German private bank, active in both investment banking and asset management.

»
”People with dementia and their relatives need our support. Good and innovative science helps to identify causes and risk factors of the disease and to develop new treatment options. The aim of my research is to protect and promote self-determination of those affected by dementia, the participation in social life, physical and mental health and the quality of life through optimal medical, nursing and social care. The Breuer Foundation, with its generous donors and dedicated employees, has been successfully working on these goals for many years and that's why I am happy to support them.”

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hoffmann, MPH, was born in 1963 in Cologne. He heads the Department of Nursing Epidemiology and Community Health of the Institute for Community Medicine at the University Medical Center Greifswald. Prof. Hoffmann is a long-time board member of the German Society for Epidemiology (DGEpi) and a member of the Epidemiological Planning Committee as well as one of the four speakers of the National Cohort.

»

Scientific Advisory Board

Daniel Fleck was born in Stuttgart in 1981. He studied biochemistry at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen and received his Ph.D 2014 with Prof. Haass and Dr. Willem (Adolf-Butenandt Institute and DZNE in Munich). From 2010 to 2012 Daniel Fleck was holder of the Alzheimer’s Doctoral Scholarship from the Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation. In 2014 he entered business at Gentech Inc (Department of Neuroscience) in San Francisco. Since 2019 he has been working at Denali Therapeutics Inc. in San Francisco as a biomarker scientist.

”I have dedicated my life to Alzheimer's research for 30 years. Only with excellent research, personal initiative and the will to interdisciplinary cooperation will we be able to defeat this scourge of humanity. Despite all our enthusiasm, we should not forget the patients and their relatives in research who rely on help every day. The Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation supports research, relatives and patients to the same extent. These are the reasons why I am happy to contribute personally and why I am committed.”

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Christian Haass was born in 1960. He studied biology at the University of Heidelberg, where he received his doctorate in 1989. He then went to Harvard Medical School and was appointed Assistant Professor of Neurology in 1992. From 1995 he was head of the Department of Molecular Biology at the Central Institute of Mental Health (ZI) in Mannheim. In 1999, he was appointed Professor of Metabolic Biochemistry at the LMU Munich and head of the Adolf-Butenandt Institute.

»
“I am particularly interested in research into so-called frontotemporal dementia, a special form of dementia that is associated with behavioral and personality disorders and that more often affects younger people. From my contacts with relatives, I am constantly aware of the enormous amount of suffering they are under and how difficult it is for them to get information about the disease and adequate help. I am therefore very pleased and proud to be able to support the excellent work of the Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation for the benefit of patients and their families. "

Prof. Dr. Manuela Neumann was born in 1969 in Munich. She is Professor of Neuropathology and Medical Director of the Department of Neuropathology at the University Hospital Tübingen and head of the working group "Molecular Neuropathology of Neurodegenerative Diseases" at the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE) in Tübingen.

»

Pierluigi Nicotera was born in Catanzaro, Italy in 1956. He studied human medicine at the University of Pavia in Italy, specializing in cardiology. He then did his doctorate at the Karolinksa Institute in Stockholm. There he worked for several years as an associate professor. From 1995 to 2000 he headed the molecular toxicology department at the University of Konstanz and was then appointed director of the toxicology department of the Medical Research Council (MRC) in England. Since 2009 he has been Chairman of the Board and Scientific Director of the DZNE.

»
“As a young doctor in 1995 I was able to set up a large population-based study on dementia. It was then that I realized what was in store for our aging society. Since then, the topic of dementia has largely determined my scientific work - on risk and protective factors, optimizing care and preventing dementia. The Hans and Ilse Breuer Foundation supports dementia research in an excellent way and, is with the StattHaus, exemplary for new concepts in dementia care. I am committed to the foundation because science and practice really come together there. "

Prof. Dr. med. Steffi G. Riedel-Heller, MPH was born in 1964 in Rodewisch, Germany. She studied human medicine at the University of Leipzig and obtained a Master of Public Health from Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore / USA. She then worked clinically and scientifically and since 2004 has been Professor of Public Health at the Clinic and Polyclinic for Psychiatry at the University of Leipzig. Since 2010 she has headed the Institute for Social Medicine, Occupational Medicine and Public Health (ISAP) at the University of Leipzig. Her research field is epidemiology as well as the prevention and care of cognitive disorders and dementias.

STACIE WENINGER, PH.D

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

2005 - Present
FMR LLC (Fidelity Investments)
2009 - Present
President, FBRI
  • President, Alzforum
  • Chair, Collaboration for Alzheimer’s Prevention
  • Board of Director Roles
    Chairman: Rugen Therapeutics
    Member: Aratome, Atalanta, Digital Cognition Technologies, Eikinzo, Sironax, Target ALS
    Past Member: Denali Therapeutics - Co-Founder (NASDAQ: DNLI), Annexon Biosciences, Inscopix, BRI-Alzan (acq. MeiraTx), Enspectra, Q-State Biosciences
  • Advisory Roles
    Chair: AFTD Biomarkers Initiative Scientific Advisory Board
    Member: UNC Autism Research Center Advisory Board, Digital Cognition Technologies Scientific Advisory Committee, Pfizer’s Genetics Scientific Advisory Panel, Science2Startup Senior Advisory Board
    Advisor: Boston Children’s Hospital Technology Development Fund, Blavatnik
    Harvard Entrepreneur in Residence
    Tufts Accelerator
»

Stiftungsorganisation

Die gemeinnützige Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung ist schlank und unbürokratisch organisiert. Sie setzt sich aus zwei Organen zusammen: dem Vorstand und dem Stiftungskuratorium. Sitz der Stiftung ist Frankfurt.

Der Vorstand der Stiftung besteht aktuell aus einer Person (gemäß Satzung aus maximal zwei Personen) und wird jeweils für fünf Jahre durch das Kuratorium berufen. Die Aufgabe des Vorstandes ist es, die Stiftung zu verwalten und deren Geschäfte nach Maßgabe der Gesetze, der Stiftungsverfassung und nach Vorgaben des Kuratoriums zu führen.

Das Kuratorium der Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung besteht aktuell aus sieben (gemäß Satzung aus max. sieben) Personen. Gemeinsam mit dem Vorstand haben sie die Aufgabe, die Aktivitäten der Stiftung zu planen, zu koordinieren und umzusetzen sowie die von der Stiftung geförderten Vorhaben zu überwachen. Sämtliche Mitglieder des Kuratoriums üben ihre Tätigkeit ehrenamtlich aus.

Bei der Auswahl der Stipendiat:innen und der Nominierung von Kandidaten für den Alzheimer Forschungspreis wird das Kuratorium durch das Scientific Advisory Board (kurz: SAB) unterstützt. Dem SAB gehören aktuell sechs nationale und internationale Wissenschaftler:innen aus dem Bereich der Grundlagenforschung und der Versorgungsforschung sowie der Wirtschaft an:

Der Vorstand wird seinerseits durch einen Beirat unterstützt. Er hilft dem Vorstand, alle strategischen Entscheidungen zu sondieren, steuert Expertenwissen bei und unterstützt beim Fundraising.

Der Vorstand

Dr. Katja Bär
„Die Stiftung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, der Demenz ihren Schrecken zu nehmen durch Aufklärung. Denn so wird den Betroffenen und ihren Familien ein neues Miteinanderleben ermöglicht. Damit einher geht auch eine langfristige Forschungsförderung. Dafür setze ich mich jeden Tag mit aller Kraft ein.“

Dr. Katja Bär, geboren 1967 in Stuttgart-Bad-Cannstatt, hat Betriebswirtschaftslehre studiert und in Versicherungsökonomie promoviert. Frau Dr. Bär leitete von 2007 bis 2017 das Stiftungsbüro. Bis Ende 2017 war sie bei der UBS Europe SE Kundenberaterin im Bereich vermögender Privatkunden und verantwortlich für den Fachbereich Stiftungen. Darüber hinaus hat sie zahlreiche Fachartikel im Stiftungswesen veröffentlicht.

Das Kuratorium

Peter Breuer, Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums, wurde als erster Sohn des Stiftungsgründers, Hans Breuer, und seiner Ehefrau, Ilse Breuer, im Jahr 1948 in Neu-Isenburg geboren. Er ist verheiratet und hat ein Kind. Peter Breuer ist selbstständiger Unternehmer.

Roland Bergfeld (LL.M.), stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums, geboren 1971 in Frankfurt, ist zugelassener Rechtsanwalt in Deutschland und in New York sowie Notar in Frankfurt am Main. Seine juristische Ausbildung hat er an der Universität Heidelberg und der Northwestern University in Chicago absolviert. Darüber hinaus verfügt er über eine langjährige Expertise in der Beratung von Stiftungen.

Stefan Breuer wurde 1957 als zweiter Sohn der Eheleute Hans und Ilse Breuer in Neu-Isenburg geboren. Er ist verheiratet und hat fünf Kinder. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet Stefan Breuer als selbstständiger Unternehmer in der Schweiz.

„Seit 30 Jahren habe ich mein Leben der Alzheimerforschung gewidmet. Nur mit exzellenter Forschung, persönlicher Initiative und dem Willen zur interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit, wird es uns möglich sein, diese Geißel der Menschheit zu besiegen. Bei aller Begeisterung dürfen wir in der Forschung nicht die Patienten und ihre Angehörigen vergessen, die tagtäglich auf Hilfe angewiesen sind. Die Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung unterstützt Forschung, Angehörige und Patienten in gleichem Maße. Das sind die Gründe, warum ich mich hierfür nur zu gerne persönlich einbringe und engagiere.“

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Christian Haass wurde im Jahr 1960 geboren. Er studierte Biologie an der Universität Heidelberg, wo er 1989 promovierte. Danach ging er an die Harvard Medical School und wurde 1992 zum Assistant Professor of Neurology berufen. Ab 1995 leitete er in Mannheim die Abteilung Molekulare Biologie am Zentralinstitut für Seelische Gesundheit (ZI). 1999 wurde er zum Professor für Stoffwechselbiochemie an die LMU München berufen und Leiter des Adolf-Butenandt Institut.

»

Andreas C. Hübner ist Senior Managing Director von Lazard Asset Management LLC und ist verantwortlich für die geschäftlichen Aktivitäten von Lazard Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH mit Standorten in Frankfurt, Hamburg, Mailand, Zürich und Genf. Er ist seit 1984 im Investment Management tätig. Bevor Herr Hübner im Jahre 1999 zu Lazard kam, war er persönlich haftender Gesellschafter bei SMH Schröder Münchmeyer Hengst & Co., die als deutsche Privatbank sowohl im Investment Banking als auch im Asset Management tätig war.

»
„Menschen mit Demenz und ihre betreuenden Angehörigen brauchen unsere Unterstützung ! Gute und innovative Wissenschaft hilft dabei, Ursachen und Risikofaktoren der Erkrankung zu erkennen und neue Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu entwickeln. Ziel meiner Forschung ist es, durch optimale medizinische, pflegerische, und soziale Versorgung die Selbstbestimmung der von Demenz Betroffenen, die Teilhabe am gesellschaftlichen Leben, die körperliche und seelische Gesundheit und die Lebensqualität zu schützen und zu fördern. Die Breuer Stiftung arbeitet mit ihren großzügigen Spendern und ihren engagierten Mitarbeitern seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich an diesen Zielen und deshalb unterstütze ich sie gern.“

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hoffmann, MPH, wurde 1963 in Köln geboren. Er leitet die Abteilung Versorgungsepidemiologie und Community Health des Instituts für Community Medicine an der Universitätsmedizin Greifswald. Prof. Hoffmann ist langjähriges Vorstandsmitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Epidemiologie (DGEpi) und Mitglied des Epidemiologischen Planungskomitees sowie einer der vier Sprecher der Nationalen Kohorte.

»

Scientific Advisory Board

Daniel Fleck wurde 1981 in Stuttgart geboren. Er studierte Biochemie an der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen und promovierte bei Prof. Haass sowie Dr. Willem (Adolf-Butenandt Institut und DZNE in München). Von 2010 bis 2012 erhielt Daniel Fleck ein Stipendium der Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung. 2014 ging er in die Wirtschaft zu Gentech Inc (Department of Neuroscience) in San Francisco. Seit 2019 arbeitet er bei Denali Therapeutics Inc. in San Francisco als Biomarker Scientist.

„Seit 30 Jahren habe ich mein Leben der Alzheimerforschung gewidmet. Nur mit exzellenter Forschung, persönlicher Initiative und dem Willen zur interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit, wird es uns möglich sein, diese Geißel der Menschheit zu besiegen. Bei aller Begeisterung dürfen wir in der Forschung nicht die Patienten und ihre Angehörigen vergessen, die tagtäglich auf Hilfe angewiesen sind. Die Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung unterstützt Forschung, Angehörige und Patienten in gleichem Maße. Das sind die Gründe, warum ich mich hierfür nur zu gerne persönlich einbringe und engagiere.“

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Christian Haass wurde im Jahr 1960 geboren. Er studierte Biologie an der Universität Heidelberg, wo er 1989 promovierte. Danach ging er an die Harvard Medical School und wurde 1992 zum Assistant Professor of Neurology berufen. Ab 1995 leitete er in Mannheim die Abteilung Molekulare Biologie am Zentralinstitut für Seelische Gesundheit (ZI). 1999 wurde er zum Professor für Stoffwechselbiochemie an die LMU München berufen und Leiter des Adolf-Butenandt Institut.

»
„Mein besonderes Interesse gilt der Erforschung der sogenannten Frontotemporalen Demenzen, einer speziellen Demenzform, die insbesondere mit Verhaltens- und Persönlichkeitsstörungen einhergeht und häufiger jüngere Personen betrifft. Aus meinen Kontakten mit Angehörigen wird mir immer wieder bewusst, unter welchem enormen Leidensdruck sie stehen und wie schwierig es für sie ist, Information über die Erkrankung und adäquate Hilfe zu bekommen. Ich bin deshalb sehr erfreut und stolz darauf, die hervorragende Arbeit der Breuer-Stiftung zum Wohle der Patienten und Angehörigen unterstützen zu können.“

Prof. Dr. Manuela Neumann wurde 1969 in München geboren. Die Medizinerin ist Professorin für Neuropathologie und Ärztliche Direktorin der Abteilung für Neuropathologie am Universitätsklinikum Tübingen sowie Leiterin der Arbeitsgruppe „Molekulare Neuropathologie neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen" am Deutschen Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen (DZNE) in Tübingen.

»

Prof. Pierluigi Nicotera wurde 1956 in Catanzaro, Italien. Er studierte Humanmedizin an der Universität Pavia in Italien mit dem Fachgebiet Kardiologie. Anschließend promovierte er am Karolinksa-Institut in Stockholm. Dort arbeitete er mehrere Jahre als assoziierter Professor. Von 1995 bis 2000 leitete er den Bereich Molekulare Toxikologie an der Universität Konstanz und wurde dann als Direktor in die Toxikologie-Abteilung des Medical Research Council (MRC) nach England berufen. Seit 2009 ist er Vorstandsvorsitzender und Wissenschaftlicher Vorstand des DZNE.

»
„Als junge Ärztin konnte ich 1995 eine große bevölkerungsbasierte Studie zur Demenz aufsetzten. Damals wurde mir klar, was auf unsere alternde Gesellschaft zukommt. Seither bestimmt das Thema Demenz maßgeblich meine wissenschaftliche Arbeit – zu Risiko-und Schutzfaktoren, zur Optimierung der Versorgung und zur Prävention von Demenzen. Die Hans und Ilse Breuer-Stiftung unterstützt die Demenzforschung in hervorragender Weise und ist mit dem Statt-Haus beispielgebend für neue Konzepte in der Demenzversorgung. Deshalb engagiere ich mich sehr gern bei der Stiftung, denn dort kommen Wissenschaft und Praxis wirklich zusammen.“

Prof. Dr. med. Steffi G. Riedel-Heller, MPH wurde 1964 in Rodewisch im Vogtland geboren. Sie studierte Humanmedizin an der Universität Leipzig. An der Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore/USA, erlangte sie den Master of Public Health. Danach arbeitete sie klinisch und wissenschaftlich und war seit 2004 als Professorin für Public Health an der Klinik und Poliklinik für Psychiatrie der Universität Leipzig tätig. Seit 2010 leitet sie das Institut für Sozialmedizin, Arbeitsmedizin und Public Health (ISAP) der Universität Leipzig. Sie forscht zur Epidemiologie sowie zur Prävention und Versorgung von kognitiven Störungen und Demenzen.

STACIE WENINGER, PH.D

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

2005 - Present
FMR LLC (Fidelity Investments)
2009 - Present
President, FBRI
  • President, Alzforum
  • Chair, Collaboration for Alzheimer’s Prevention
  • Board of Director Roles
    Chairman: Rugen Therapeutics
    Member: Aratome, Atalanta, Digital Cognition Technologies, Eikinzo, Sironax, Target ALS
    Past Member: Denali Therapeutics - Co-Founder (NASDAQ: DNLI), Annexon Biosciences, Inscopix, BRI-Alzan (acq. MeiraTx), Enspectra, Q-State Biosciences
  • Advisory Roles
    Chair: AFTD Biomarkers Initiative Scientific Advisory Board
    Member: UNC Autism Research Center Advisory Board, Digital Cognition Technologies Scientific Advisory Committee, Pfizer’s Genetics Scientific Advisory Panel, Science2Startup Senior Advisory Board
    Advisor: Boston Children’s Hospital Technology Development Fund, Blavatnik
    Harvard Entrepreneur in Residence
    Tufts Accelerator
»